This is an archived site
This site contains information from September 2006 - August 2020. Visit the current site.

U.S. Commerce Secretary Gary Locke Announces Members of New National Advisory Council on Minority Business Enterprises

Secretary Locke and Director HinsonCouncil will support continued growth of the minority business community

U.S. Commerce Secretary Gary Locke today announced the appointment of 25 individuals to serve on the newly established National Advisory Council for Minority Business Enterprises.  The advisory council, led by the Commerce Department’s Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA), is the first council focused on promoting the minority business community since the early 1970s. 

The new council will provide advice and recommendations to Locke and the administration on a broad range of policy issues affecting the minority business community as part of the Obama administration’s focus on creating new jobs and strengthening the U.S. economy.  Recent Census data show that the number of minority-owned firms is growing at a significant rate, yet the gap in revenue between minority-owned and non-minority-owned firms is substantial.  Disparities in access to capital have also been recently documented in a report commissioned by MBDA.   

“A strong and vibrant minority business community is absolutely essential to the growth of the U.S. economy,” Locke said.  “I look forward to working with the advisory council to identify new and innovative ways the public and private sector can help spur growth among minority-owned firms so they can expand their operations and hire more people.”

“The nation’s 5.8 million minority-owned firms have significant untapped potential that can benefit the United States,” said David A. Hinson, MBDA’s national director. “The advisory council has an opportunity to shape future policies and programs that will set the foundation for the growth of $100 million companies across all industries that are owned and operated by U.S. minorities.”

Advisory council appointees represent a broad range of industries including technology, energy, financial services, manufacturing, healthcare, hospitality, construction and consulting, and vary from small businesses to multinational corporations.  The council’s first meeting will take place in early 2011. 

In addition to appointing council members, Locke has asked Mark Hoplamazian to serve as chair and Janice Savin-Williams to serve as vice chair of the council. 

The full list of appointed members to the National Advisory Council on Minority Business Enterprises includes:

  1. Jean Baderschneider, Vice President, Procurement, Exxon Mobil

  2. Gregory Case, President and CEO, Aon Corporation

  3. Lamae Allen-DeJongh, Partner, Accenture

  4. John Harris II, President, Raytheon Technical Services Company

  5. Mark Hoplamazian, President and CEO, Global Hyatt Corporation

  6. Paul Hsu, Chairman of the Board, HSU Enterprise Group, LLC

  7. Anthony Jimenez, President and CEO, MicroTech

  8. Ash Luthra, President and CEO, LSL Industries, Inc.

  9. Jose Mas, CEO, MasTec, Inc.

  10. Chris Melvin, Chairman and Founder, Melvin & Company

  11. Marc Morial, President and CEO, National Urban League

  12. Javier Palomarez, President and CEO, U.S. Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

  13. Elizabeth Plaza, President and CEO, Pharma-Bio Serv., Inc.

  14. Richard Rizzo, Vice Chairman, Perini Building Company

  15. Roy Roberts, President and CEO, Alliance of Professionals & Consultants, Inc.

  16. Ed Sanchez, Chairman and CEO, Lopez Foods, Inc.

  17. Janice Savin-Williams, Co-founder and Senior Principal, Williams Capital Group, LP

  18. Michael Schell, Executive Vice President, Alcoa

  19. David Segura, CEO, Vision IT, Inc.

  20. Jim Sinegal, CEO, Costco

  21. Donald Thompson, President and COO, McDonald’s

  22. Chiling Tong, CEO, International Leadership Foundation

  23. William Von Hoene, EVP, Exelon

  24. Purnima Voria, Founder and CEO, National U.S. India Chamber of Commerce

  25. Frank White, President and CEO, Advanced Concepts